3 for 2 Makeup Bargains – Real Techniques Buffing Brush & Boots No7 Moisture Drench Lipstick Review

When it comes to Makeup, I always love picking up a bargain, who doesn’t in fairness?!  So I was in my element when, while browsing around Boots, I realised they currently have 3 for 2 on all makeup and makeup accessories so I took full advantage of that to try out some things that I had wanted for a while.

First up, I got this Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman – Expert Face Brush.  This is a foundation buffing brush and I had heard great things about it so wanted to try it out.

The bristles are really dense and it’s great for working the foundation right into your skin and making it look flawless.  However the brush is so dense that it doesn’t spread the product along your face as well.  So you need to use quite a bit of foundation, concentrating on one spot at a time, but it is worth it for the results you get.  I always like to use a buffing brush rather than a regular foundation brush when applying my foundation anyway, so this is perfect for me.

I would recommend this to anyone starting out who doesn’t have good makeup brushes.  They also have a box of face brushes and eye brushes that come as two separate sets and are great value.  This brush alone was €11.95 which is really good value.

Next up, I wanted a couple of nice Cranberry/Berry shades of lipstick so I decided to pick up a couple from No7 makeup as part of my 3 for 2.  I got two very similar shades from their “Moisture Drench” lipstick range called, Raisin Shimmer and Cranberry. They were €11.75 each.

Raisin Shimmer is a lovely winey-pink colour with a hint of gold shimmer – lovely for night time and Cranberry, which is a plain berry shade with no shimmer to it, is great for the daytime or for work if you want to wear a more bold lip colour.  Both colours are right on trend for this Autumn.

The shade on the left above is Raisin Shimmer and right is Cranberry

The formula is super moisturising and has a bit of a sheen to it when applied.  Despite that, I wore the Cranberry shade on a shopping trip at the weekend and it really lasted most of the day.  I only had to reapply after I had something to eat, so I am very impressed with these I have to say.

All three of those items cost me less than €20 on the 3 for 2, plus I had a No7 voucher for €4 off, so according to my receipt, I saved €15.75 – woo hoo!  That helped to make me feel a lot less guilty about buying yet MORE makeup when I could open a shop with what I already have. 😀

Have you bought any new shades of lippie lately?  Or tried the Real Techniques brushes? Let me know in the comments below 🙂

Leave a Reply

