Benefit “They’re Real” Mascara Review

I’ve been trying out this mascara for a while now and I wasn’t sure about it at first but now, I actually like it!  It comes in a box with a free half-size mascara that you can throw in your makeup bag or if you’re a professional makeup artist, this is handy for keeping in your kit.

What I liked:

  • You only need one coat with this mascara and it gives you fabulously long lashes
  • The brush really separates your lashes and makes them look quite natural and not clumped together
  • It will last all day and doesn’t flake off at all
  • I love the little freebie mascara you get in the box, so handy

What I didn’t like:

  • It can make your lashes feel very hard and “set” but that just takes some getting used to
  • The brush can feel a little scratchy when you first apply it because it’s one of those plastic spiky wands
  • If you over apply or apply 2 coats, prepare to get the spider eye effect!  One coat is really all you need
  • It’s a fecker to get off!  Only an oil based eye makeup remover will remove this mascara, nothing else.  Even then I found I still had panda eyes the next morning and needed to remove more.  Not a bad thing if you want your mascara to last though! 🙂

Overall I’d give this a big thumbs up.  It give more length than volume so if that’s what you’re looking for, you’ll love this.

The set above costs €25 from Benefit Cosmetics and can be bought at most big department stores.

Try it and let me know what you think!

 

 

10 thoughts on “Benefit “They’re Real” Mascara Review

  1. love this bought the mini one first in boots to try it out and i brought it on hols with me and i loved it so much i bought it on the plane coming home for €18 delighted 🙂

    • Yeah it’s good I have to say now, doesn’t flake off at all and makes your lashes look really long. I’ve had a few people ask me am I wearing falsies when I have it on so it must be good 🙂

  2. Hmmm….interesting and impressive. I think I wanna try out this product. Based on your review, it looks like a great product to try out. I prefer this kind of mascara so I’ll go and check this one out.

    • Let me know what you think of it when you do try it. Oh and make sure you get an oily eye makeup remover for taking it off to avoid permanent panda eyes! Makeup wipes or normal makeup remover just won’t cut it with this one. 🙂 I’d recommend the Johnstons eye makeup remover for that.

  3. Picked this up on a flight at the weekend for €19. Tried it yesterday and loved it but decided to use my regular mascara this morning and apply it the way Benefit described. No comparison! I look like I’ve no eyelashes compared to when I used They’re Real.

Leave a Reply

