Cocoa Brown Tan by Marissa Carter = Best Fake Tan EVER!

I don’t know about you but I love a good fake tan.  It just makes me feel really healthy looking and also helps me appear a little bit slimmer which is a great bonus!  With the weather being so amazing lately I decided to try the latest self tanner from Cocoa Brown by Marissa Carter, which has been getting  rave reviews on blogs and beauty sites as well as receiving beauty awards left, right and centre, and it’s easy to see why once you’ve used it.

Cocoa Brown self tan has two different products:

One Hour Tan

03_bkg-1024x676

This mousse formula does exactly what it says on the tin, you slap it on and in 1 hour you have developed a beautiful golden glow.  It has a brown guide colour and when the tan develops you can wash the guide colour off :

1 hour after application – for a light tan

2 hours after application – for a medium tan

3 hours after application – for a darker tan

The tan will then last up to 5 days and it fades extremely well and isn’t at all patchy . It gives a lovely deep, even colour and I found the guide colour on this to be great and didn’t bother washing it off, even though you’re supposed to.

 

Night and Day Tan

night_day_5cans_w-1024x676

Also a mousse formula you can use this on a night out if you haven’t had time to apply fake tan the night before or put it on when you get out of bed to last for the day.  The guide colour is the best I’ve seen, it’s a really natural beautiful colour by itself and doesn’t leave you looking like you’ve been wrestling in a mud bath!    You can wash the guide colour off the next day and still be left with a light glowing tan.

Both products are perfect for girls on the go who don’t have time to wait overnight for their tan to develop.  This is hands down, the best tanning brand I’ve ever used and I love the results it gives so it gets a huge thumbs up from me and I’d highly advise you to try them out.  At €7.99 they are an absolute bargain also.

As with all fake tans, there is some skin preparation required in the days before you apply it, so here are some tips:

  • Exfoliate your skin well and pay particular attention to anywhere your skin folds or creases as well as rough areas such as knees and elbows
  • Shave the day before you want to apply your tan as if you do so just before application, it can result in angry red bumps, particularly on your legs and underarms which does not look good!
  • Moisturise the day before you apply tan but leave your skin free from any products or deodorants etc. on the day you want to apply your tan or they will give a patchy result.
  • Make sure you have exfoliated away any old tan before you reapply new tan
  • For an even darker result, you can apply the tan 2 days in a row

 

Top Tip:   Some people use a tanning mitt to apply their fake tan but I find using latex gloves much better.  They give you greater control of where the colour is going, especially on hands/fingers and feet  and you don’t waste as much product.

Doing your hands is easy, just take one glove off, apply tan to the glove free hand, wait for that to dry then pop a glove on it and do the same to the other hand.

Another thing I love about both products is the smell!  It’s not your typical chemical fake tan smell, it actually smells really nice and my husband hasn’t complained about the smell once when I’ve got into bed so it must be good as his smellers are really sensitive!

Cocoa Brown tan is available in Hickeys & McCabes Pharmacies as well as Penneys, Superquinn and now Boots.  If you’re outside Ireland, you can also get it on the  Feel Unique website so pick one up for yourself next time you see it and I promise you won’t regret it 🙂

3 thoughts on “Cocoa Brown Tan by Marissa Carter = Best Fake Tan EVER!

    • Same! My sister was using the day and night, loved it. I got the 1 hour tan and washed off after 2. I’m extremely pale and it came up really well on my skin. Put it on on Friday and its faded so well, slightly patchy around my feet but that’s my shoes rather than the tan. I love it! It’s my new go-to instant tan!

Leave a Reply

