New Skincare Routine using Kiehls Cleanser, Toner and Moisturiser

I often change my skincare routine, especially coming into the Summer or Winter months as I find my skin changes.  Right now I’m pregnant too (hence a lack of posts here, sorry about that!) so my skin has actually changed for the better!  I used to suffer with hormonal acne around my chin/neck area, but that’s gone and I’m glad to see the back of it to be honest!  My skin has taken to pregnancy really well and is just glowing at the moment.  The only issue I have is pigmentation on my forehead and under my eyes so with the hot sunny weather, I wanted a good moisturiser with an SPF that would protect my skin and stop the pigmentation worstening.

I had heard loads about Kiehls skincare and often had a browse in the stores but I hadn’t actually tried anything.  So while wandering in Dundrum one day I decided on a whim to pop in and have a look. Luckily it was at a quiet time and the sales assistant offered to do a skin analysis on me which turned out to be pretty good actually!  He asked me questions about my current skincare routine and the state of my skin at the moment and then he took two little blotting pads and told me to hold them on my skin for a few seconds.  He then matched them to a chart and was able to tell from that, that my skin was oily/dry combination (something that I already knew but it was good to have it confirmed!).  Based on that he recommended the following products and I’ve been trying them out for a month now with great results:

Ultra Facial Cleanser – €18

Kiehls Ultra Facial Cleanser

Kiehls Ultra Facial Cleanser

This is a gel cleanser that you use with water to cleanse your skin thouroughly and melt through any makeup.  Now I was a bit sceptical about this because I’ve always only used cream cleansers with cotton wool to remove my makeup.  Most other cleansers I’ve used with water have left my skin feeling dry and “stripped” of moisture.  Not this one though, I wet my face and popped a tiny bit in the palm of my hand, lathering it up and applying all over my face in small circular motions. I then used a wet facecloth to remove the residue from my skin and it was left looking and feeling fresh and clean.  I am very impressed with this, it really is a great cleanser.  You would need a separate eye makeup remover but this does a great job of breaking down makeup and grime on your skin.  The only issue I have with this is the packaging it comes in, if you don’t close the lid properly, you can find a big blob of product has escaped as the tube stands upside down on its cap.  This wasted a good bit of the product inside unfortunately so make sure you close the cap tight!

Ultra Facial Toner – €18

Kiehls Ultra Facial Toner

Kiehls Ultra Facial Toner

Another must in my skincare routine, is a good skin toner.  The sales assistant recommended this one for me.  Now it does have a small amount of alcohol in it which I always try to avoid in a toner as again, it can strip your skin.  The sales assistant managed to convince me that with the oilyness of my skin, it could actually do with this to really make sure it was clean.  I popped some of this on a cotton pad and ran it over my face and it actually managed to lift off more residues of makeup that was left there from cleansing!  Just goes to show you, you shouldn’t skip your toner, no matter how good your cleanser is as it really picks up any leftover dirt left on your skin.  This was lovely to use and again, didn’t leave my skin feeling dry.  Loving this also 🙂

Ultra Facial Moisturiser SPF 30 – €29 for 125ml

Ultra Facial Moisturiser

I bought the cleanser and the toner but I wasn’t sure about the moisturiser that the SA suggested as it was quite thick and I wanted to be sure it would suit my skin so he very kindly gave me a sample of this moisturiser to use and to see how I got on with it.  It was a very generous sample in fairness, 30ml which lasted me a good while!  This is quite a thick forumla and you really have to work it into the skin but that’s because it comes with a high SPF of 30 which blocks out UVA & UVB rays, so perfect for summer days when you’re just going about your business. I have to say, if you are sunbathing or planning to be exposed to the sun for long periods of time, you should use a total sunblock with an SPF of 50+.  This however, was perfect for me, I put it on under my regular foundation and it moistursed and protected my skin really well.  It did make my skin a little shiny though and I had to make sure I set my foundation with powder otherwise it would have looked a bit too “greasy” but that wasn’t a problem for me.  I would definitely purchase this as my moisturiser for the summer months.  It’s just so handy not having to use a separate SPF to your regular moisturser.

Overall, I’m loving Kiehls I must say.  The sales assistants seem to be well trained and really know their stuff when it comes to skincare and they do a great skin analysis so you’re guaranteed to get the right products just for you and not waste your money on something recommended to you that doesn’t work so I’d highly recommend at least having the consultation and maybe picking up a few samples to try.  I’m also loving the prices, they are a lot less than what I thought they’d be and the products are very generously sized so last ages which is fantastic!

I also love the no fuss packaging of the products and obviously the fact that they really work, cater for a wide range of skin concerns and include a range for men too!

Have you tried Kiehls products?  What do you think?  Let me know below 🙂

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “New Skincare Routine using Kiehls Cleanser, Toner and Moisturiser

Leave a Reply

